neelwrites/fiction/100wordstory/15/11/2016

 

Orphaned flowers

By Neel Anil Panicker

word count: 100 words

‘Careful. Those flowers were his life. Especially so after that prize he won last fall.’

I couldn’t agree more.

I gingerly stepped past a neat row of red, orange and lavender dahlias, the blooming petals resplendent in the morning brightness.

‘Were they not as welcoming as last time around, notwithstanding the slight breeze that blew in from the sea, or was it just me hallucinating?’

We stepped inside the house, or whatever was left of it. A nauseating smell of something like burnt rubber greeted us.

“It is his cats, I reckon. They had no chance.”

“Ronnie too”, I added.

(c)neelanilpanicker#100wordstory

#FridayFotoFiction

Tina Basu

friday-foto-fiction-prompt

+++

2 thoughts on “neelwrites/fiction/100wordstory/15/11/2016

  1. This is wonderful Neil. Sorry I saw it this late. I didn’t see your entry in the link up and had to find it through the comments. Tomorrow we’ll be giving out the prompt for Week 3. You can follow me on twitter for the prompt. Could you please link your post in the linky going forward because we make sure we are visiting all the links there. Thank you for writing for #FridayFotoFiction

    Like

    1. Thank Tina. And sorry i did try the linky but somehow was unable to get through. Could you do something about it? Or i just send in through comments? Would that be okay? Thanks

      Like

Leave a comment