neelwritesblog/100wordstories#02/released/photoprompt-thewall

Friday Fictioneers

Ellehcor Banner FF

peter-abbey11

RELEASED

By Neel Anil Panicker

They say there is light at the end of the tunnel. But I say there is life at the end of these 100 steps. I tread in slowly.  One, two, …thirteen.

A streak of faint sunlight sneaks past the thick edged glass enclosures above. Time is not on my side. It never was. How can it ever be, for one who has been rotting in a   

an open prison for five years. What a joke! This place is more closed than any prison in the whole of America.

Ninety-seven…ninety-eight, ninety-nine…

“Halt, Mr Walter… you have been released.”
(c)neelanilpanicker2016

100 word stories#02

13 thoughts on “neelwritesblog/100wordstories#02/released/photoprompt-thewall

  1. […] neelwritesblog/100wordstories#02/released/photoprompt-thewall […]

    Like

  2. Dear Neel,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! There’s a lot of story here…a lot of emotion. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    1. Thanks a zillion Rochelle for your kind words and appreciation. Have a nice day.

      Like

  3. I wasn’t quite sure how to construe this. I thought at first he was on his way to freedom, but the last line persuaded me that he was on his way to the gallows before he was pardoned. I enjoyed it.

    Like

    1. Am so glad you enjoyed it, Sandra. Thanks

      Like

    2. Yes, that’s the idea_to keep the suspense until the end. Am glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

  4. gahlearner

    I thought he was trying to break out. In any case, what a relief at the end.

    Like

    1. Yeah! A last step twist. Glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It could also be that he was being ‘released’ from life itself. I deliberately kept the ending a bit open ended. To let the readers mull over his fate. Hope i have been successful.

    Like

  6. I like the “counting” in this. It gives a feeling of either release or impending doom. Welcome to our merry band of writers. Alicia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Alicia. I look force to more such participations. Am so glad you liked my piece. Have a nice day.

      Like

Leave a comment