neelwrites/flash/fiction/shortstory/ff/100words/19/05/2022

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

WRITER IN RESIDENCE

By Neel Anil Panicker

A bookshelf choc-o-bloc with tomes, a thesaurus or two, the ubiquitous 1000 page Oxford or Merriam Webster’s Dictionary. Throw in Shakespeare, Chaucer, Kafka and Dostoevsky and Plath; add an assortment of writing pads, multi-hued pens, loose white sheets and what have you.

Uncle Jacob’s study was the exact antithesis of all this!

As spartan as they come, the septuagenarian’s office was a lone table by the lone window that opened into the wild backyard, loose white sheets, some black gel pens.
Enough weaponry for his writerly imagination to birth over two dozen books, three anthologies and the highest literary award.

#neelanilpanicker #flash #fiction #shortstory #100words #ff

10 thoughts on “neelwrites/flash/fiction/shortstory/ff/100words/19/05/2022

  1. I expect the clean desk means there are no distractions. Great contrast of two different approaches to writing.

    Like

  2. No two writers are the same!

    Like

  3. I would be in the first category and we have not even mentioned the art supplies. 🙂

    Like

  4. I like the contrast between the two. I’d like to be like Uncle Jacob – I really like the concept of a clean surface to write on and no distractions.

    Like

  5. My desk is quite crowded, but everything that surrounds me is there for a purpose, like literary friends and I can’t imagine writing without them!

    Like

  6. Neel, I like the spin you put on the image.

    Like

  7. Dear Neel,

    I wouldn’t be able to relate to Uncle Jacob. 😉 Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  8. I tried so hard to be a “writer”, gathering the tools and knowledge. One of my happiest days was when I realized all I really needed was a pen and some paper. Okay, a laptop. And maybe a thesaurus, along with…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Writing doesn’t have to be messy 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment