neelwrites/FF/zoomingoff/anecdote/19/07/2017

Hosted by the Queen of Flash, the wonderfully delightful and super talented Rochelle at  https://rochellewisoff.com/2017/07/19/21-july-2017/

ZOOMING OFF

GENRE : ANECDOTE

PHOTO PROMPT © Kent Bonham

By Neel Anil Panicker

“It will take us places,” he had said, insisting we buy a car.

I had my doubts, though.

The grocer’s was a hop, skip and jump away.

Movies we didn’t dig.

Relatives?

Whoever had the time for others in this day and age.

‘For what then?’ I had countered.

“For those lazy Sundays_ just you, me and the sandy beach,” he persisted, scratching his salt and pepper beard, a half hesitant smile playing on his lips, the same that he employed when seducing me some half a century ago.

Car’s on the shed. Lying idle. He’s gone places, for sure.

©neelanilpanicker2017 #FF #fiction #100words

33 thoughts on “neelwrites/FF/zoomingoff/anecdote/19/07/2017

  1. Dear Neel,

    I wouldn’t call this an anecdote. I’d call it revenge on the half-shell. 😉 (BTW, I only set the genre for my own stories…it’s not a directive.) Subtle and well written, my friend. So much story in so few words…well layered.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. An intriguing write – I am quite puzzled why he insisted upon buying the car if he was going to leave especially since his partner didnt have much care for one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

