neelwrites/FF/manchestermonster/99words/24/05/2017

A fictional story relating to the tragic Manchester bombing.

Written for Friday Fictioneers Challenge hosted by Rochelle.

26 May 2017

MANCHESTER MONSTER (99 words)

PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll

By Neel Anil Panicker

With much trepidation she steps into Chelsea’s room.

‘Mama, I’m a grown up girl. No entering my room, ok?’

The words a command, spoken with the authority of one stepping into her teens.

The guitar gapes at her, its case open.

Hours before it was strumming Dangerous Weapon.

A half eaten sandwich, its hardened crust pointing heavenly, a left over from last night’s indulgence, mocks her from the floor below.

‘Chels, you need to be more organised. How dirty is your room’.

She realises she’s speaking to an empty room.

“I’m off to Manchester, for the concert of my life.”

©neelanilpanicker2017 #FF #fiction #shortstory

52 thoughts on “neelwrites/FF/manchestermonster/99words/24/05/2017

    • Dear Rochelle, you’ve always been a good friend. I am thankful that my story touched a raw chord and resonated with your life’s experiences. Yes, we are seeing a lot of stories around the Manchester carnage. A horrific tragedy, a black spot for mankind. Hope better sense prevails.

      Like

    • I know Louise. This is a moment for all of us, free, peaceful and rightful thinking sane men and women around the world to put their feet down and condemn their most barbaric of acts in the strongest manner possible. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I still haven’t got my head around events in Manchester. That it happened in Manchester. I have been writing on my blog against terrorism for the last couple of years through a group called 1000 voices of compassion. I also think it’s important to remember the good people who helped at the scene…the homeless man who pulled nails from people and taxis driving people free of charge. It doesn’t compensate those who lost loved ones, especially children. Yet, you have one evil terrorist and millions around the world speaking out in love. We have to keep that up.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

      • I had an interesting footnote to that, Neel. On Friday, my 11 year old daughter walked into a pole and her glasses broke and cut a gash in her eyebrow, which required stitches. This happened when she was on the way to meet me and another Mum found her and took her to the medical centre and called me to find out she was alright. The staff were lovely as well. It was very moving for me to experience such love in action and community coming together, especially after events in Manchester. I really do feel that there’s more good than bad in humanity over all.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What a I can sense the most is the guilt of the mother after such parting words… one thought that have popped up in my mind is that of the Danish girl of 17 that was convicted for planning to blow up schools… she moved from being a fan like the girls to one who was ready to kill them…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Beautifully written. There are so many lines I love but my favorite is “The words a command, spoken with the authority of one stepping into her teens.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Neel, each week you get better and better (and were already good at the start)! This was a so-well told tale. And as the mother of teen boys who hasn’t seen the colour of their floor in months… I so know what this mom is seeing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

