neelwrites/FridayFictioneers/100words/26/04/2017

THE LIVING DEAD

PHOTO PROMPT © Liz Young

By Neel Anil Panicker

John’s been gone for two years, but for me he’s here__as alive as yesterday’s memories.

He’s here in the caress of my frayed palms as I kneel down and furiously attack the myriads outgrowths that threaten to lay siege to what is rightfully mine.

It’s a losing battle__this dusting aside and brushing off and hacking away of ever burgeoning claimants to his heart.

Jo’s mine only to be savoured.

But I am tired.

I doubt I’ll be able to endure another minute of summer madness that is Kolkata.

As the moon waves goodbye, I slip into his arms awaiting deliverance.

©neelanilpanicker  #100words #FF  #shortstory  

https://rochellewisoff.com/

27 thoughts on “neelwrites/FridayFictioneers/100words/26/04/2017

Leave a Reply

