neelwrites/fiction/shortstory#SPF#200wo/02/02/2017

Dear Friends,

I am sorry but like Lain Kelly, I too couldn’t stop myself from writing something that reflects the changed political reality of our times.

Neel.

TRUMPING THE WALL  (200 words)

By Neel Anil Panicker

‘The screws of the world’, Richard muttered under his breath as he turned off the television.

Killings, hatred, bombings, laws, in-laws…the world seemed to have gone mad.

It reminded him of something.

“Chris, have you taken your medicines?,” he called out.

There was no response.

Richard checked his watch. 8 o’clock. Not yet sleep time.

He walked into the room.

There was no one. The bed was littered with toys. A flickering video game suggested recent activity.

A folded yellow paper lay around it.

He picked it up and, read its contents.

‘Dear Dad,

Miss Janet tells us we have a new President. She said he is very bad. He is building a wall, she told the class. Even Bob and Steve said the same. I am very afraid. You promised Mom will come soon but I know you are lying.

This man is evil. He will never allow Mom to stay with us.

I love you a lot but I want to live with Mom. I am leaving for Iraq. I have my boat.

I built it on my own. Learnt that in Arts class.

I will come back soon, to take you also.

Your loving son,

Chris.

(c)neelanilpanicker2017#fiction#shortstory#SPF#200words

 

01-ceayr-29-january-2017

© C.E.Ayr

Sunday Photo Fiction – January 29th 2017

SPF

Click on the image see a larger version.

Written for fiction writing contest Sunday Fictioner hosted by

https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/sunday-photo-fiction-january-29th-2017/

10 thoughts on “neelwrites/fiction/shortstory#SPF#200wo/02/02/2017

Leave a Reply

