neelwrites/fiction/shortstory/200words/FFfPP//2017

INKING PAIN    (195 words)

By Neel Anil Panicker

“Is that a wink behind all that ink?”

I like teasing Mark. It’s post-midnight and I switch on the table lamp. It’s fun to watch nee gorge on him, his naked rippling torso, every inch of it a kaleidoscopic melange of devilish tattoos in shapes, sizes and patterns that would beguile any architect.

“You are a walking graffiti billboard,” I rib him further as my fingers follow a hydra-headed serpent, its fangs disappearing into a crevice beside his balls.

I know this pleases him no end as he stirs a wee bit, and then jerks his head slightly up. I know what he wants and bend my face down. His lips shoot up to make friends with my neck and below.

It was then that I see it__ a heart shaped full bearded Jesus with teary eyes, all encased in a minimalist T that covers almost the entire upper back. My eyes catch something__a scrawl, perhaps. I squint further in the semi-darkness and read out the letterings, all cursive.

They add up to a word__ mercy.

It was then that I know. The tattoos have to go.

Mark needs to start afresh__on a clean slate.

(c)neelanilpanicker2017#fiction#shortstory

lad

FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER- 2017 WEEK #04

The challenge for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner will open early Thursday morning, January 19th. Allow the prompt to take you anywhere you want to go! (Limit your stories to 200 words.)

This challenge is open until 11:00 pm Wednesday night, January 25th, 2017.


Click on the Blue Frog to share your story with our community.

Leave a Reply

