neelwrites/flashfictionforaspiringwriters/#87thchallenge/bride/07/11/2016

WELCOME !

87th Challenge

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Week of 11-01 through 11-07-2016

FFfAW Challenge – Week of November 1, 2016

 

photo-20161031154655113

A BRIDGE TOO FAR

By Neel Anil Panicker

word count: 150 words

This is no ordinary bridge. It is my saviour, my penance and, my pilgrimage.

Standing here at the centre of the bridge (it has to be the middle__somehow I don’t get the same feeling from the sides), I face head bowed, my eyes rivetted but closed, gazing through the

crystal clear icy blue waters.

After sometime, through the placid stillness, I see her__ her full moon ever cherubic face with those delectably curly hairs tossed all around that long languorous neck.

My eyes lock into hers and I realise yet one more time that I failed her.

Failed as she slipped from my hands and was swallowed by the eddying currents.

Time hangs deathly still for long until those accusing eyes get submerged.

Time to leave. Got to come back tomorrow.

Hope one day those eyes start smiling, my soul gets cleansed and I am able to cross the bridge.

(c)neelanilpanciker#fridayfictionforaspiringwriters#brideg#02

5 thoughts on “neelwrites/flashfictionforaspiringwriters/#87thchallenge/bride/07/11/2016

Leave a Reply

